Center for Curatorial Leadership Announces 2023 Fellows

Screen%20Shot%202022 11 17%20At%204.10.05%20Pm (PNG)

The 2023 CCL Fellows (from left to right) are: Katherine Brinson, Lisa Çakmak, Ainsley M. Cameron, Julie Crooks, Laura De Becker, Janet Dees, Daisy Desrosiers, Maria C. Gaztambide, Emily Liebert, Casey Riley, Legacy Russell, and Gabriela Urtiaga.

Twelve Curators Announced for Sixteenth Annual Intensive Training Program

The Center for Curatorial Leadership (CCL) is excited to introduce its 2023 cohort of Fellows. Now in its sixteenth year, the CCL Fellowship is the preeminent leadership program for curators, providing them the skills and tools needed to become visionary leaders of art museums.

The twelve curators selected for the highly competitive program each have an established record of scholarly and curatorial excellence and a shared commitment to creating a more equitable and inclusive museum field. The 2023 cohort reflects the diversity of curatorial practice today, representing a range of institutional contexts from throughout the Americas and with expertise spanning thousands of years of artistic creativity across the globe.

CCL’s Fellowship program prepares curators to influence, evolve, and shape the future of museums. Remaining responsive to the changing museum landscape, the curriculum emphasizes innovative and cross-disciplinary approaches to leadership and centers the social responsibilities of museums. The program offers a generative space for learning where members of the cohort can share ideas, problem solve and support one another as they look to make change in their institutions and in their communities.

We admire the accomplishments and achievements of these exceptional curators and are excited by their potential as the next generation of institutional leaders. It is with this sense of promise and purpose that CCL welcomes the sixteenth cohort to our growing network of alumni whose impact radiates across the museum sector.

Congratulations to the CCL Class of 2023!

CLASS OF 2023:

Katherine Brinson, Daskalopoulos Curator, Contemporary Art, Guggenheim

Lisa Çakmak, Chair and Curator/Arts of the Ancient Mediterranean and Byzantium, Art Institute of Chicago

Ainsley M. Cameron, Curator of South Asian Art, Islamic Art, and Antiquities/Curatorial Division, Cincinnati Art Museum

Julie Crooks, Curator, Arts of Global Africa and the Diaspora, Art Gallery of Ontari

Laura De Becker, Chief Curator, University of Michigan Museum of Art

Janet Dees, Steven and Lisa Munster Tananbaum Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art, Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University

Daisy Desrosiers, Director and Chief Curator, Gund Gallery, Kenyon College

Maria C. Gaztambide, Executive Director and Chief Curator, Public Art of the University of Houston System

Emily Liebert, Curator of Contemporary Art, Cleveland Museum of Art

Casey Riley, Chair, Global Contemporary Art and Curator, Photography & New Media, Minneapolis Institute of Art

Legacy Russell, Executive Director and Chief Curator, The Kitchen

Gabriela Urtiaga, Chief Curator, Museum of Latin American Art


Download the press release here