Center for Curatorial Leadership Announces 2024 Fellows

Screen%20Shot%202023 10 30%20At%205.37.16%20Pm (PNG)

The 2024 CCL Fellows (from left to right) are: Charles Aubin, Makeda Best, Katherine Larson, Nora Lawrence, Aimé Iglesias Lukin, Victoria Lyall, Oluremi C. Onabanjo, Caroline Shields, Megan Steinman, Susanna V. Temkin, Akili Tommasino, and Michael Wellen.

The Center for Curatorial Leadership (CCL) is delighted to announce the incoming cohort of 2024 Fellows. Twelve outstanding curators have been selected by a group of leading museum professionals for their distinguished record of achievement and commitment to fostering more equitable and inclusive institutions. Since its founding in 2007, CCL has been dedicated to providing a space for curators that brings together a diversity of perspectives, experiences, and knowledge, and encourages Fellows to learn from one another. Combining peer-learning and instruction from seasoned leaders in the field, the CCL Fellowship curriculum provides curators with tools to responsibly take on leadership roles within art museums and cultural institutions.

Fellows will travel to New York City in January to spend two weeks receiving instruction from Columbia Business School faculty, learning from a variety of arts, culture, and foundation leaders, and engaging in peer-led projects with practical application. Mentorship is a key part of the program, and each Fellow will spend a week shadowing a museum director, taking a deep dive into an institution other than their own. The program concludes in May, when Fellows come back together in-person for a week of conversation and reflection. The participants are ultimately presented with a Practicum project that charges them with identifying solutions to urgent issues facing institutions today. We hope each Fellow will carry these lessons with them and rely on their cohort for support as they aim to create positive change within their institutions and communities.

The CCL curriculum deeply considers the contexts within which each Fellow works, recognizing the many ways that they both converge and diverge, and we are delighted that the cohort represents eight institutions new to CCL. The 2024 cohort also represents a broad range of expertise, including both ancient and modern art of the Americas, Islamic art, photography, European art, and modern and contemporary interdisciplinary arts.

We are excited for the impact these curators will have on a regional and global scale as they advocate for change across the culture sector. CCL welcomes its 17th cohort with openness and eager anticipation for the new relationships, connections, and ideas that will be generated.

Congratulations to the CCL class of 2024!

The 2024 CCL Fellows (listed alphabetically)

Charles Aubin, Co-Director, Centre Pompidou x New Jersey
Makeda Best, Deputy Director of Curatorial Affairs, Oakland Museum of California
Katherine Larson, Curator of Ancient Glass, Corning Museum of Glass
Nora Lawrence, Artistic Director and Chief Curator, Storm King Art Center
Aimé Iglesias Lukin, Director and Chief Curator of Art, Americas Society
Victoria Lyall, Frederick and Jan Mayer Curator, Art of the Ancient Americas, Denver Art Museum
Oluremi C. Onabanjo, The Peter Schub Associate Curator, Department of Photography, Museum of Modern Art
Caroline Shields, Curator, European Art, Art Gallery of Ontario
Megan Steinman, Executive Director, Denniston Hill
Susanna V. Temkin, Curator, El Museo del Barrio
Akili Tommasino, Associate Curator, Modern and Contemporary Art, The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Michael Wellen, Senior Curator, International Art Tate Modern